top of page

DIY Heating Bag

I made one of those heat bags you throw in the microwave for a friend so I figured I'd do a blog post on how I made it...

I made this one with flax seed because it doesn't smell as bad as others made with beans or rice, in my opinion. It was only $3 dollars at Walmart. The fabric is cotton and cotton blend.

I started by cutting out 2 rectangles that were 11" by 7". I sewed along 3 of the edges and left one end open. Make sure to zig zag the edges as well.

Next I turned it the right way out and sewed a line down the middle to give it 2 compartments for the seeds. I filled it, leaving the top inch and 1/2 to 2 inches empty so I could close up the end. I put pins in to hold the seed in place while I sewed the edge. I folded the open edge in on itself about 1/2 inch, pinned with wonder clips and sewed it closed to finish it.

For the outside case I cut 2 pieces of fabric. The first was 11.5" x 7.5", the second was 16" x 7.5". I cut the second piece into 2 pieces, one 6" x 7.5" and 10" x 7.5". I took those 2 pieces and folded the overlapping edges over 2 times (1/2") and sewed them. I then sewed all the way around and zigzaged it.

It turned out really well, I was quite happy with it :)

<3 Keira


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page